It takes what it takes!

Today is a very windy day where I live. The wind is so strong that is seems to confuse and scare me. I’m very grateful that it does not always blow this hard, but I know it has a very real purpose in the circle of life.

I was laying in bed trying to take a little nap, (there isn’t really too much you can do outside), and as I was lying there I started thinking about Jesus’ example of the spirit being like the wind. I began paying closer attention to the activities of that wind as I laid there in silence.

Sometimes it would blow so hard I thought my windows were going to blow out! Other times, quick hard gusts would happen and I would hear a strange banging of something somewhere. And still others would just be the sound of the big palm trees fronds blowing. I never really paid this much attention to it as I have lived here for over 30 years, so I am used to it. Today was different though.

It wasn’t until I picked up my bible and started reading John chapter 8 that I realized why the spirit was making me so keenly aware of the different traits of the wind. This is what I was reading:

They answered and said to Him, ‘Abraham is our father.’ Jesus said to them, ‘If you were Abraham’s children, you would do the works of Abraham. But now you seek to kill Me, a man which told you the truth which I heard from God. Abraham did not do this. You do the deeds of your father.’ Then they said to Him, ‘We were not born of fornication; we have one Father – God.’ Jesus said to them, ‘If God were your Father, you would love Me, for I proceeded forth and came from God; nor have I come of Myself, but He sent Me. Why do you not understand My speech? Because you are not able to listen to My word. You are of your father the devil, and the desires of your father you want to do. He was a murderer from the beginning, and does not stand in truth, because there is no truth in him. When he speaks a lie, he speaks from his own resources, for he is a liar and the father of it. But because I tell the truth, you do not believe Me. Which of you convicts Me of sin? And if I tell you the truth, why do you not believe Me? He who is of God hears God’s words; therefore you do not hear because you are not of God.’

Many times upon reading these verses, I would say to myself, ‘You tell em Jesus! Let them have it!’ I have even used these verses to tell people they are of their father the devil! However, this time something new came over my heart. I did not see it as an excuse to condemn anyone who does not listen to me; I never should have! But in my heart I did. Understanding the immensity of God’s love for all mankind, I asked the Lord, “Where is the love in these things You said to these men?’

He answered me straightaway in my observation of the wind. He showed me the different strengths of it to help me understand that it has a purpose. Some purposes are to cleanse or dry up; and occasionally things get destroyed. Some send seeds to various places so new life can grow in different places. It can be useful for stirring up and cooling off; and they are sometimes the strongest just ahead of or during a storm. The bottom line is that even though they can confuse or scare me, they have some sort of affect on a much bigger picture than I can see.

He helped me understand that He absolutely loved the folks He was talking to in the verses above! Like the wind and it’s different strengths and attributes, so it is with the delivering of truth. I know beyond a shadow of a doubt what Jesus was trying to do with these men He had this dialogue with, and it was all good. That was the strength of the wind that they needed, so He gave it!

In our modern day dealings with people, it is not politically correct to tell someone they are of their father the devil because of our misunderstanding of what love looks like. The motivations of our thoughts an intents can be a skewed so that things we say or do are not motivated by His spirit of love, but rather our own desire to be right. I must confess this is where my motivations have been for a long time.

It is my earnest prayer to be so sensitive to His spirit inside me that gives me the ability to be slow to speak, quick to hear; that I may impart grace to the hearer in whatever strength He provides it. Then and only then can I know that it is from a motivation of love that grace and truth comes forth.Whatever strength that wind may be, if it is lead, or blown if you will, I can rest assured it will have His love for that person behind it. Prayerfully it will take!

That which is born of the flesh is flesh, and that which is born of the Spirit is spirit.Do not marvel that I tell you, ‘You must be born again.’ The wind blows where it wishes, and you hear the sound of it, but you cannot tell where it comes from and where it is goes. So is everyone who is born of the Spirit.

Blessings precious saints!

Grace and Peace…Lisa

About OneSpiritOneLordOneGod

I am a new creation with a new heart given to me by my Father in heaven through the Lord Jesus Christ!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

