Become as little children?

Being able to see the kingdom of God can be found in John 3. Jesus tells Nicodemus, that unless a man be born again, he cannot see the kingdom of God. Try to imagine if you will all of the set ways you have developed in your years on earth.  Boy I know some that are completely set in stone for me. Yet Jesus also tells us that we must become as a little child; for of such is the kingdom of God. So what are you saying Jesus? Am I to put diapers on, or stop everything and cling to my mommy for care and well-being? I think there may be something in that statement I just made! It is not our mommies we are to cling to, but Jesus Himself!

The longer I am walking with Him, the more I see the repeating of history in regards to man and his attempts to be smarter than God. Not too many children running around, wanting to do nothing but play and eat, whine and throw tantrums. Hey wait, maybe I do; but it isn’t in the midst of their relationship with Him, it is over their own selfish desires and wants.

I have been blessed with spending more time with my grand-daughters, and I will tell you; you can learn a lot from a child. The other day I went to the park with them, and observed some very interesting things. My Father in heaven has been trying to show me what it might look like from His perspective; and He has 7 billion children to tend to, so I cannot even imagine what that would be like!

So anyways, I was watching my grandbaby Josie climb up some of those bar stairs. I must let you know that she is somewhat afraid of heights, and although these steps are only 4 ½ feet off the ground, it is quite high for her. The first few steps are closer to the ground, and she climbed up them with confidence, hey no problem! It was when she got higher up and closer to the end that I observed something happening to her. From my viewpoint, it was a very difficult thing to do, just stand right there in her peripheral vision so she would know I was there; and it took everything I had not to just grab her, or help her through those fears she was dealing with. “Here let me help you, or make it easier for you sweetheart’, I was thinking. But the Lord was trying to show me something, and it was difficult for me.

As she neared the top where it was a bit higher off the ground, I looked at her face and saw anguish and uncertainty. I could hear her breathing get faster, and basically her fear was all I saw. The only thing I could do so she would conquer this fear was stand attentively by her side, (of course ready to catch her should something happen), and encourage her to keep going, she was almost there! What probably seemed like an eternity to her, (and me I must confess), finally came to a successful end, and she had a reaction that was not quite what one would expect. It was not a reaction of, Yay, I did it; but one of Whew I made it!

I believe there is so much in Jesus telling us to become as little children in this sense: As difficult as it may be to set aside all our set in stone traditions, and behaviors that we are comfortable with; it is His desire for us to get back to that discovering phase of our new life we have in Him; and as we discover the depths of that, sometimes afraid or uncertain, we can always rest assured that He is right there beside us, and ready to catch us if we should misstep or tumble, but when we keep pushing through, He is the most amazing encourager we could ever perceive.

Jesus said, “And this is eternal life; that they may know You, the One true God, and Jesus Christ whom You have sent.” Getting to really know Him as a Father can be difficult for some, however, after being saved for just about 10 years, it is quite exciting to find out what it is like to become a little child again with Him, so full of discovery and wonder, and best of all, knowing He is right here with me through wherever and whatever that discovery may take me or be! It is so good to have a Father that loves me with a love I could have never imagined, as my earthly father was never in my life. I pray for all that read this, and you get a few glimpses of people with children, or you with your own; to imagine for just a moment those precious moments magnified a million times by a Father whose love never, ever wanes.

Blessings saints!

Just gotta be me….Lisa

We can trust Him! He loves us!

We can trust Him!
He loves us!

About OneSpiritOneLordOneGod

I am a new creation with a new heart given to me by my Father in heaven through the Lord Jesus Christ!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Become as little children?

  1. jimpuntney says:

    Beautifully expressed, and as as ‘crapaw’ I understand the lessons our Father uses to teach us from our little ones.

    Like

Leave a Reply

