Did He really mean that?

036

I am writing about a subject that is near and dear to my aching heart. It is the subject of loved ones, friends and family being alienated over Jesus; and I am discovering that it has happened to countless brothers and sisters around the world. The very thing that we are being alienated over is the law; which you would think we would have figured out is done away with; after all, it has been over 2000 years since Jesus took it out of the way and nailed it to the cross!

The main verse I want to discuss is in Matthew chapter 10, verses 32-37:

“Therefore, whoever confesses Me before men, him I will also confess before My Father who is in heaven. But whoever denies Me before men, him I will also deny before My Father who is in heaven. Do not think that I came to bring peace on earth. I did not come to bring peace but a sword. For I have come to set, (Lit. alienate), a man against his father, a daughter against her mother, and a daughter-in-law against her mother-in-law; and a man’s enemies will be those of his own household. He who loves father or mother more than Me is not worthy of Me. And he who loves son or daughter more than Me is not worthy of Me”

Now, because the four gospels are not taught from a perspective of being Old Covenant, it is easy for an unlearned saint to think that they are really following Jesus because they have successfully been alienated from their family member or friends; therefore, a sense of false justification and devotion to Him keeps them from trying to discover more deeply what it is He meant by those words. I, myself had to ask the Lord why He would come to do this, and His response was, ‘That’s not what I meant. Dig deeper child. Let Me show you!’

He took me on a journey of understanding that He is the spirit of prophecy, and that He was proclaiming what was going to happen between the Jews who chose to believe that He was the Christ, and those who would not give up their precious law and traditions. Some verses back in the same chapter He tells them they would give each other up to be killed over those things. And as we go forward to not only the death of Jesus, but the book of Acts, we can see this declaration come true.

Fast forwarding to the 21st century, and aside from the killing, (at least in America), there has arisen a modern day alienation going on, yet it is over the same issue; the law…period! Just as the nation of Israel lived according to the Torah and traditions, today’s christians are trying to live by the bible and traditions. Just as the Torah was poorly misinterpreted by the Jews, wouldn’t it stand to reason that maybe we have misinterpreted the bible? The Torah explained that the Messiah was coming, and He did and they did not receive Him. Our bible is chocked full of recorded history of men not listening to God and continuously doing what was right in their own eyes; yet it gets skipped over or taught in such an arrogant way as to seem one would never do that!

I’m kinda getting lost now from my point so to reel myself back in, I must return to the verse. I personally am alienated from my daughter right now and it hurts like hell! It is NOT because I am following Jesus and she isn’t! It is because I am very injured by the people she chose to take sides with who cast us out of the fellowship because we did not agree with their interpretation of who God is and what He did through His Son, our Savior Jesus Christ! It has been three+ years since this happened and He finally let me know it was ok to back up for a while. It is a time of healing and learning to trust Him with the situation.

The very sad thing is, (and I used to feel all righteous and justified over it believe me!), that because a verse is once again not taught in its proper context, many marriages, families and dear friends are being alienated from each other by men, NOT Jesus! Leaders that allow this to happen would be better off having a millstone tied around their necks because they are causing little ones to stumble. If He said it to the children of Israel, don’t ya think He would be that serious about it for all people? After all, in the New Covenant there is neither Jew nor Gentile!

I will leave you with another prophetic word from the spirit of prophecy Himself!

“But beware of men, for they will deliver you up to councils and scourge you in their synagogues. You will be brought before governors and kings for My sake as a testimony to them and to the Gentiles. But when they deliver you up, do not worry about how or what you should speak. For it will be given to you in that hour what you should speak, for it is not you who speaks but the Spirit of your Father who speaks in you.” ~ Matt. 10:17-20

Saints, I beg you on Christ’s behalf, and as a sister who desires peace for your soul; true peace that only He can supply, to let Him teach what those hard to understand passages mean. Together let us discover a Father who is madly in love with us and always has been!

Peace out….Lisa

About OneSpiritOneLordOneGod

I am a new creation with a new heart given to me by my Father in heaven through the Lord Jesus Christ!
This entry was posted in Life, New Covenant, reality, reconciliation and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

