Still think it’s Gnosticism? Part I

I pray the unfathomable love and wisdom of God be yours in abundant communion with the Spirit of truth by whom we are taught!

I pray the unfathomable love and wisdom of God be yours in abundant communion with the Spirit of truth by whom we are taught!

Most people will say, “Who cares! What’s the big deal about who he is referring to? It is a tool to preach the gospel and weed out the imposters! So please just sit down and shut up! Thank you.”

Sorry to say, but I can no longer continue in that state of being anymore, and I can see that many saints have grown tired of the same ole, same ole as well.

Picture the scene will ya? The poor and illiterate people have been oppressed by the Jewish leadership for millennia pertaining to the things of God when Jesus comes on the scene. Now He is constantly reminding them, (the Jewish leadership who are in charge of the oracles of God mind you), that they should recognize Him; not just by what He is saying, but by what they are hearing about, and in some instances seeing. Yet they continue to reject Him as the Christ; and to make matters worse, they would threaten those people with getting thrown out of the one place they had been told God dwells if they did confess Him to be the Christ.

First I am going to list some key verses out of I John regarding things of Jesus. Then I will follow it up with some conversations Jesus had with the Jews in the regular book of John and let you decide! My reasoning for this study is so that we can stop being scared by these verses, and stop scaring our brothers and sisters with them because of traditional nonsense teaching that is not for them!

The New Covenant has been in effect for over 2000 years and I feel it is high time we start entering into it so the Holy Spirit can do what He was sent to do; and that is guide us and lead us into all truth! Isn’t that what Jesus brought us: Grace and truth?

Anyways, let’s take a look at the verses I was mentioning. (BTW this is the book that got us thrown out of the synagogue!)

I John 2:22- Who is a liar, but he who denies Jesus is the Christ.

I John 3:10- In this the children of God and the children of the devil are manifest; whoever does not practice righteousness is not of God nor is he who does not love his brother.

I John 4:2,3- By this you know the Spirit of God; Every spirit that confesses that Jesus Christ has come in the flesh is of God, and every spirit that does not confess that Jesus Christ has come in the flesh is not of God.

I John 4:15- Whoever confesses that Jesus is the Son of God, God abides in him, and he in God.

I John 5:1- Whoever believes that Jesus is the Christ is born of God, and everyone who loves Him who begot also loves him who is begotten of Him.

Ok, so we have a few verses here that have been traditionally assigned to Gnosticism and some spirit called anti-christ. But as we look at regular John and the account of his life with Jesus in the flesh, I think you will see, at least I hope, it is an audience of Messiah rejecting Jews who do not want to lose their authority or lordship over other men that Jesus is talking to. You can decide for yourself, but please ask the Holy Spirit for help!

Our first point found in I John 2:22 can be deemed the foundation upon which our faith stands: Jesus is the Christ! Yet the Jewish leadership did not want to accept the fact that He had really come; after all these years of reading about it, it had finally happened. Let’s look at some of their responses.

John 9 tells a story about a blind man from birth that Jesus healed on the Sabbath. The Pharisees are not too concerned with the miracle that had just taken place, but about their precious law being broken. Trying to pin Jesus down as a lawbreaker and sinner, they call the parents of the man that was healed. The purpose of their response is why I use this particular illustration. Let’s read:

John 9:20-22: His parents answered them and said, “We know this is our son, and that he was born blind, but by what means he now sees we do not know, or who opened his eyes we do not know. He is of age, ask him. He will speak for himself.

Now get this: His parents said these things because they feared the Jews; for the Jews had agreed that if anyone confessed that He was the Christ, he would be put out of the synagogue. What???? I have to restrain myself for the conclusion of this blog. Let’s move on.

I John 3:10 can be found in John 8:37, 38 and 42-44: I know that you are Abraham’s descendants but you seek to kill me because My word has no place in you. I speak what I have seen with My Father, and you do what you have seen with your father. (Side note: They got confused between who their father is: Abraham or God – see for yourself!) V. 42 – If God were your Father, you would love Me, for I proceeded forth and came from God; nor have I come of Myself, but He sent Me. Why do you not understand My speech? Because you are not able to listen to My word. You are of your father the devil, and the desires of your father you want to do. He was a murderer from the beginning and does not stand in truth, because there is no truth in him. When he speaks a lie, he speaks from his own resources, for he is a liar and the father of it.

What about the practicing righteousness part of that verse you may be asking? Considering the fact that according to the law the Jewish leadership were some pretty righteous dudes, so what could it possibly mean? Romans 1:16-17 gives us a clue. Again it all has to do with Jesus being the Christ: “For I am not ashamed of the gospel of Christ, for it is the power of God to salvation for everyone who believes, for the Jew first and also for the Greek. For IN IT the righteousness of God is revealed from faith to faith, as it is written: ‘The just shall live by faith.’

I think I have given you enough to think about for this section so I am going to cut it off from here. If you have any questions or comments, I would be happy to discuss them with you. Please do not try and throw any high falutin speech derived from traditional teaching at me as I will not respond. I am searching for sisters and brothers who want to look deeper at the things of Jesus and our Father, and break free from the traditional bondage of mediocrity that has gone on for far too long. See ya next time!

Peace out…..Lisa

About OneSpiritOneLordOneGod

I am a new creation with a new heart given to me by my Father in heaven through the Lord Jesus Christ!
This entry was posted in Life, New Covenant, reality, reconciliation, salvation and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

