Can we comprehend?

“For this reason I bow my knees to the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, from whom the whole family in heaven and earth is named, that He would grant you, according to the riches of His glory, to be strengthened with might through His spirit in the inner man. That Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith; that you, being rooted and grounded in love, may be able to comprehend with all the saints what is the width and length and depth and height – to know the love of Christ which passes knowledge; that you may be filled with all the fullness of God. ~ Eph. 3:14-19

What an amazing scripture to wake up to this morning! We were reading our friend Ralph Harris’ book last night, “God’s astounding opinion of you!’, and the chapter about aliens have landed is a very touching chapter our brother shares with us about how he deals with His children; and well this is the verse I woke up to. In light of all the chaos that has ensued on facebook and the internet at large, I am grateful to my Father for reminding me once again what His main goal in my life is; and that is to comprehend with all the saints just how amazing His love is for us. But how do we comprehend together what the height, width, depth and length is if all we are still talking about is how much we are still sinning? Could it be because we have not finalized the cross and realized our death, burial and resurrection WITH Christ and have not received a new heart? I mean, this is a difficult and somewhat brutal question to pose, but I am trying to comrehend why someone cannot get off of the hamster wheel of a performance driven life trying to please God when He is actually tickled pink about you! Speaking in human terms, and if you have children, do you withold love from your kids if they don’t act right, and lavish it on them when they do? What affect do you think that has on them and you when they do things that they don’t really do but do it anyways? Are they scared, or do they just give up? 

I say all that to say this: Our Father is not just some holy character that we read about in a book. Sometimes I wish that everyone I know could have some kind of love catastrophy happen so that the only one left to show them the real love they are looking for is our Father! This what happened to me the day I was reconciled to God, and thank God I didn’t have a bunch of regurgitated old dusty doctrines of men to hinder what He gave me that day! The love and renewal my spirit needed my whole life was presented in an instant, and man how grateful I am for that. Many things have been introduced into my life since then that tried to confuse and frustrate what happened that day, but I now understand that it is my Father who wills to do for His good pleasure and that I can rest in the fact that He is the ONLY one who WILL finish what He started IN ME!

Does my behavior always match up with who I am? Of course not! But neither does yours, and that is the mechanism by which together we can comprehend what is the height, width, depth and length of His love for us is in Christ Jesus our Lord. So how about we stop bashing each other because we sin differently than each other, and instead start digging into the incredibly deep well of discovering just how much we are loved by Father, who Christ dweling in our hearts will testify to, and go love someone as you are loved. The following verse I have found to be one of the most difficult passages to fathom because all we see is flesh! However, that is why it has been a matter of life and death to lean so heavily on the spirit of life in Christ to teach me, lead me, and guide me into really seeing it for what it is! It is not a ritualistic chant that I use with an “I think I can!” at the end of it, but part of my new life as a minister of reconciliation and a new and better covenant that He has made me sufficient in. Thank You Jesus!

“For we do not commend ourselves again to you, but give you opportunity to boast on our behalf, that you may have an answer for those who boast in appearance and not in the heart. For if we are beside ourselves, it is for God; or if we are of sound mind, it is for you. For the love of Christ compels us, because we judge thus: that if One died for all, then all died; and He died for all, that those who live should no longer live for themselves, but for Him who died for them and rose again. Therefore, from now on, we regard no one according to the flesh. Even though we have known Christ according to the flesh, yet now we know Him thus no longer. Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; OLD THINGS HAVE PASSED AWAY, BEHOLD, ALL THINGS HAVE BECOME NEW! Now all things are of God, who has reconciled us to Himself through Jesus Christ, and has given us the ministry of reconciliation, THAT IS, that God was IN Christ reconciling the world to Himself, not imputing their trespasses to them, and has committed to us the WORD of reconciliation. Now then, we are AMBASSADORS for Christ, as though God were pleading through us: WE IMPLORE YOU ON CHRIST’S BEHALF, BE RECONCILED TO GOD. For He made Him who knew no sin TO BE SIN FOR US, THAT WE MIGHT BECOME THE RIGHTEOUSNESS OF GOD IN HIM.” ~ II Cor. 5:12-21

This is a never ending journey of learning how to be lead by the spirit, but it is amazing. I encourage you in the love of Christ which is an amazing place to start, and HE will finish the good work in you He created before the foundation of the world.

Lovin you in Christ …..Lisa

About OneSpiritOneLordOneGod

I am a new creation with a new heart given to me by my Father in heaven through the Lord Jesus Christ!
This entry was posted in Life, Love, New Covenant, reality, reconciliation, salvation and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

