You’ve got an ‘A’!

I will supply all your needs according to my riches and glory!

I will supply all your needs according to my riches and glory!

What is life as a New Covenant believer like? A simple analogy to describe it would be proclaiming that you have an ‘A’. What do I mean? I can best explain it using my business class I took in college. After explaining to us the plan for the semester, with a big smile, my instructor looks at us all and tells us, “Congratulations ladies and gentlemen, you all have an ‘A’!” At first a feeling of excitement fills the room, and a few whistles and yay’s; but then he drops the bomb on us. Something that sounds too good to be true usually is, and this event was no different. His next line informed us that throughout this semester, depending on our test scores, it would be up to us to keep that ‘A’. The excitement quickly dwindled, and the hard work began. As the semester wore on, and the tests piled up, my ‘A’ didn’t last no matter how hard I tried to keep it. Life gets in the way of studying, and one bad preparation time for an exam, and BOOM! My ‘A’ ended up sinking to a B-. Which is not bad by many standards, but my heart still sunk. I worked so hard, (so I thought), to keep that gift of an ‘A’ only to realize that although it seemed simple, it definitely was not.

When Paul wrote to the Corinthian church that God was in Christ, reconciling the world to Himself, not counting men’s trespasses against them, and has given us this ministry of reconciliation; what He was really saying is that because of the New Covenant our Father proclaimed and ratified through the death, burial and resurrection of Jesus Christ, we all have an ‘A’. And as believers who understand this, and have received and understood our part in this ministry; it is our complete joy to tell all who will listen that they too have an ‘A’ from God. The difference between what happened in my class and our walk in the New Covenant, is that we do not have to work to keep that ‘A’! Hallelujah!

Unfortunately, what has happened though, is that because the Jewish law has been put in the bible, and many teachers believe it is God’s moral standard for all mankind, many a saint is duped into thinking that they can lose that ‘A’ so they have to work to keep it. This simply is not the case. Why you ask? Because upon careful study of the Jews relationship with the Lord under the law, you will quickly see that they couldn’t keep that ‘A’ under the Old Covenant, which is why He had to make a new one. They actually asked for a setup like the illustration I gave with my instructor and didn’t even come out with a ‘B’. Just like I imagined in my mind that I was going to keep that ‘A’, however well-intentioned I was at the time, the Jews told Moses, ‘All that He has said, we will do!’ Meaning they were going to keep the Ten Commandments! Sadly enough they didn’t even make it 40 days. Check it out and keep this illustration in mind; it gives me a chuckle to think about it.

Anyways, the beautiful thing about the whole situation is that our Father was not mad, He mainly wanted us to see that the eternal ‘A’ He gives us in our life in Christ only involves realizing that we can never lose it because it is His ‘A’, not ours! We are forever a teacher’s pet, if you will! Ha! And as ministers of reconciliation, we get the honor of running around letting people, (not necessarily just believers), that they too have an ‘A’ with the Father. Our great teacher Jesus Christ, tells us every day from the inside what an awesome student we are; and although we may not FEEL like we are living in an ‘A’ status with Him, or even like we don’t deserve one; He will always remind us that we do and will always have an ‘A’! Thank you Jesus!

“Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; old things have passed away; behold, all things have BECOME new. Now all things are of God, who has reconciled us to Himself through Jesus Christ, and has given us the ministry of reconciliation, that is, that God was IN Christ reconciling the world to Himself, not reckoning their trespasses to them, and has committed to us the word of reconciliation. Now we are ambassadors for Christ, as though God were pleading through us: we implore you on Christ’s behalf, be reconciled to God. For He made Him who knew no sin to be sin FOR us, that we might become the righteousness of God IN Him.” ~ I Cor. 5:17-21

That’s right saints! We are the righteousness of God in Christ, and He definitely has an ‘A’!

Peace out precious ones!….Lisa

About OneSpiritOneLordOneGod

I am a new creation with a new heart given to me by my Father in heaven through the Lord Jesus Christ!
This entry was posted in Life, Love, New Covenant, reality, reconciliation, salvation and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

