Finding Thanksgiving!

105_3586

Well it is that time of the year again! And what a year it has been! Lots of life stuff happened that is making it kinda tough to find Thanksgiving; but here goes!

I am thankful that I still get to climb in bed with my husband every night and cuddle; and after 14 years together I still get goose bumps feeling his warm body next to mine! I get to play with my little dog noodle still who is going on 17 years old. Even with half of one eye being able to see, and ears that don’t hear, she still runs around like a puppy at times bringing great joy to a heavy, heavy heart! I am thankful that I get to cook for my mother in law another year, and make her the thing she waits all year to eat – ambrosia; and her heart is a happy one.

I am thankful for my grandchildren that bring me joy every time I get to visit with them; and teach me things about life and love only children can. Being able to be a part of them overcoming little fears in life, and sharing in their excitement when they conquer it is something that one will cherish for a lifetime. Teaching them things about life like being real, asking questions, and not being afraid to take chances is the joy of any grandparent for sure.

What I am most grateful for is having a friend and Father that has brought me to a place of comfort and relaxation I never thought I could have, yet searched for my whole life! It has been a season of truly learning how to trust Him; ask Him the super hard questions; and even be afforded the opportunities to be angry with Him. Extremely angry! Regardless of what my life experiences have been this year, I am discovering it has been a method I would not have chosen to bring light to some of the things I have picked up along my road of living. I was blinded and lost a few years; but even that has proven to be an integral part of my growing up; so much so, that I can not be blinded or the real me hidden under a basket ever again. I have been taught that I am a special, one of a kind creature that can and should only be me. People will either love me or hate me; but one thing I know for sure is: I can’t please all the people all the time, but I gotta be me!

So I reckon finding Thanksgiving wasn’t that bad. Just to let you know a little about this year, (and this is not to put a damper on everything I just wrote), my husband had a stroke, my mother-in-law had to have surgery in which cancer was found again, and my uncle just died. So my take away from these experiences is something my husband likes to tell me whenever things in life get hard: Chance and circumstance happen to us all, but those who trust in the Lord will find strength! My husband has been an amazing example to me once again through all of the trauma he just went through. Never once did he say out loud anyway, or ask: ‘Why did you do this to me Lord?!’ He is an amazing man even though he still struggles with believing it! And with that I will end this with a great big thank you Father for my husband and my life!

Happy Thanksgiving precious ones!

About OneSpiritOneLordOneGod

I am a new creation with a new heart given to me by my Father in heaven through the Lord Jesus Christ!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

